You know, I kinda like my job!

Happy Friday everyone! It’s been a fun week. I’ve been teaching ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support) for the last few days and I always have a blast with that. It’s so satisfying to watch people, who’ve been dreading the class, get to the test or the Mega Code and realize that they do know the information and that it’s not as scary or  hard as they thought it would be. I work with some really bright people so I can’t take credit for them passing the course, but I’d like to think that maybe I help make it a little easier or a little less intimidating. It makes my day when someone tells me that she was really nervous but ended up having a great experience because I made it fun. That’s cool. I can see why all you teachers out there continue to do all that you do despite the obstacles.

I wasn’t sure this job and I would fit. There wasn’t the degree of busyness that I like to surround myself with and that makes me very nervous in a healthcare setting. These days, slackers get laid off, no mistake. However, since the holidays ended, my department has been amping up and the next few months promise to be filled with classes and seminars and opportunities to take our educational services out to the community. I’m glad I didn’t panic and run back to the familiar. I think this position will be much more satisfying.

Currently, I’m working on a Medical Terminology class for the laypeople in the organization. Like many clinicians, I pepper my speech with clinical terms. Unless I’m talking to clinical people, I get a lot of blank looks. There are so many folks who haven’t come to health care from a clinical school. So I’m hoping to share some of our secret language with my teammates. In the process I’m learning a few new things, myself. For instance, did you know a form of the salmonella virus is responsible for Typhoid fever? How about this, the Duodenum (which is the first part of the small intestine) literally means 12 finger breadths, which describes it’s approximate length. Huh! I didn’t know that! I love the fact that I have been in this business for over 20 years and I can still learn new stuff. It’s just fricking awesome.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

