When Wants and Needs Collide

I’ve been catching up on my blog reading this morning.

One of the writers I follow, Fransi Weinstein at Three Hundred Sixty Five, has done a wonderful series on want vs. need and living a simpler life. It really has made me think about the way I spend my money and my time. I am way too free with both, shelling out hard-earned wages for silly things that won’t truly make me happy or improve my life in any conceivable way and wasting time with frivolous pursuits that don’t add much in the way of value. I think there is something to the collective unconscious theory that has people coming to the same conclusion at the same approximate time. We need to scale back to a simpler way of life.

With all the emphasis a few weeks ago on the supposed “end of the world”, I got a wild hair and started watching a survival show called “Man, Woman, Wild”. Loved it. This American ex-special forces guy takes his British wife out into the wilderness to demonstrate survival in various scenarios. She’s a journalist and pretty tough in her own right but a little “girly” when it comes to snakes and spiders. But she tackles each challenge and does remarkably well. This show emphasizes a self-reliant attitude about surviving in an emergency. I think the idea of scaling back, a simpler way of life, and becoming more self-reliant are all tied together and exactly how we need to be thinking at this time in our history. I am by no means self-reliant. If a disaster happened right now, I’d probably not survive. But I want to. I want to be the self-reliant person who can raise a garden and maybe some chickens and goats. I want to be the person who knows how to install solar panels and a wind turbine. I want to be the person who can rub two sticks together and make fire (although I have take Mikal Hawke’s advice seriously and now always carry a lighter). These are “wants” that I believe could help me to achieve a simpler, more balanced life. Thank you Fransi, for directing my thoughts to where they needed to be. I “need” to live up to this challenge.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fransiweinstein
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 08:23:30

    Wow, I admire what you want to do. I can barely screw in a light bulb. If I rubbed 2 sticks together all I’d get is a splinter. But in all seriousness, I know what you mean. Part of living a simpler life is definitely becoming less reliant. Now you’ve inspired me. I’ll have to give some thought to what I can learn how to do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

